EVERY MILE MATTERS

image_6483441 (6)
Abraham Attah’s story excites me. I watched his interview recently with Ghanaian Broadcaster, Abeiku Santana and listened keenly as he recounted his story on how he was once a street hawker to becoming a celebrated actor today and living the life that most people envision. I’m sure you know the story too… By the way, i must confess shyly, I gushed over him anytime he laughed. (Insert silly laughter)

I read a story of a woman whose story almost broke the internet after she gave birth 40 years post marriage. If she lived in my part of the world, the chastisement, judgement, and name calling would have been enough to make her feel worthless. It took four decades for her to finally own a son she can call hers. I shudder to think about the countless times she cried herself to sleep and the many days on which she felt incomplete among her peers. All those days her faith wavered, yet, she held on and now she has her reward.

Recently, my cousin graduated college after six years. If you’re guessing it’s no news because Medicine students spend even more years in school, then I’m sorry to burst your bubble. She needed only four years to get hold of that degree certificate she proudly has now. I hadn’t experienced someone get so fulfilled in a long while until I saw her clad in her graduation gown that day, I felt so proud of her. When she recounted her predicament, you could testify that it hadn’t been easy. Today, she has a new song.

I envisioned to finish my first degree at 22, start my career and be on my way to becoming one of the finest communicators, get married and start my own family…
At 26, I have now graduated University. But, I look back and see what I’ve been through. They look like detours but not exactly. I’ve not attained it all but I’m glad that I have the experiences I have gathered along the way.
It tells me that, although I’m not where I want to be yet, I’m definitely not where I wouldn’t have loved to be.

I’ve been through good and bad days, I’ve met amazing and bad people. I know you have too. Take a moment and reminisce, see how all those experiences have shaped your perspective and built your character…
There’s hope to be found when life takes you on a detour. Every tear, pain, every feeling of rejection, every sorrow you gathered on your way, they don’t define who you are or what you will be. It’s history. You can choose to stay and wallow in your past if you want to. But here’s your motivation, you aren’t what you used to be and your past is not prophecy of your future. Get rid of the “shoulda, coulda, woulda’s” and position yourself to embrace what the future holds for you. If you’re already continuing in His lead…for the win. Don’t beat yourself because really, every mile mattered.

Light and Love.
Jackie Hanson.

9 comments

  1. Gifty · August 10, 2018

    Beautiful piece miss Hanson, the sky is just a starting point for you my dear

    Like

  2. Deon · August 10, 2018

    Great piece. Keep it up

    Like

  3. akorfadee · August 10, 2018

    Spot on girlfriend

    Like

  4. Osei Sarpong · August 10, 2018

    Nice

    Like

  5. kniisol · August 10, 2018

    Wow. Thumbs up girl. Always inspiring me. This piece is powerful. More grace dear

    Like

  6. Emmy😘 · August 11, 2018

    👍

    Like

Leave a comment